Month: July 2012

  • No Time To Write

    I've had no time to write anything, mainly because my computer is still doing the thing where it locks up and then I have to power it off and wait a little bit and then let it boot up again.  Sometimes I have to do it two or three times before it finally stops and works right and by then there's no time to write anything and I have to leave for work.

    No theatre for a few weeks and that's been nice.  I was burned out by the time "On Golden Pond" started rehearsals, so that was nice.  I will be in "Murder By The Falls" again this year, but that's hardly any rehearsal time and doesn't go up until the 2nd week of September.  I did however audition for the annual "concert" version of a musical at CVLT.  I put "concert" version in quotes because they don't do a true concert version, which would be the orchestra onstage and the actors sitting in chairs with several music stands near the front of the stage.  A narrator usually tells parts of the story and then the actors might do a few lines and then sing the songs with the music in front of them on the stands.  That way, there's very little rehearsal needed on the actors' part.  At CVLT, they have the 35 piece Chagrin Valley Light Orchestra onstage and then just about the entire musical, costumes and props included, is performed up there.  It's a bit much for one weekend/three performances, but they're doing "The Roar Of The Greasepaint, The Smell Of The Crowd" and the song "Who Can I Turn To?" is one of my favorites that I've known since I was a young kid, so I auditioned yesterday.  Don't know when I'll hear, but there's really only two parts in the show in which I'm interested, so we'll see what happens!

    In the meantime, I've been exercising a lot.  Besides doing P90X at our company fitness center 5 days a week,  I bought a StreetStrider - http://www.streetstrider.com/ - and I ride it three or four times a week on top of the P90X stuff.  But I've run into several problems with parts.  Am awaiting new parts yet again, so unable to use it, which is frustrating, because when it's working, it is THE toughest workout I've ever had, but the most FUN workout I've ever had.  And worth it - they claim you can burn up to 1,800 calories an hour and I totally believe it.  I wasn't going to say anything because I'm not quite halfway to my goal, but I've lost 23 pounds since "On Golden Pond" closed back on May 5th (I just this moment weighed myself to see where I am).  I also quit drinking alcohol back on May 20th when I had a two-day migraine after drinking the night of the 20th.  I'm not going to give it up altogether - I'm going to have some on vacations and for some special occasions, but if almost every time I have alcohol, I end up with a migraine PLUS it's empty calories, then there's no point.  A lot of times, I can feel the migraine starting WHILE I'm drinking alcohol, so I have to take my migraine medicine before I go to bed in hopes of staving it off.

    My doctor wants me to lose a total of 68 pounds.  He claims that I should weigh 190.  But the problem is he uses a chart most doctors use which says that if you're so tall, a particular gender, and a certain age, this is what you should weigh.  It doesn't take into account musculature in any way.  So some mega-bodybuilder with maybe 2% body fat would be considered "obese" on these charts.  However, my doctor also sent me to a nutritionist and she gave me a body fat test which said that my ideal weight should be 220 pounds.  Which means I've only got 15 more pounds to lose, not 45 as per the doctor.  But to be honest, I don't give a feck what I weigh - I care how that weight is proportioned.  If I look good and I can see the bottom half of my stomach when I look down rather than having to use a mirror - THEN I will be happy.  All I know right now is that I've had to go in 4 notches on my belt and pretty soon I'm going to have to go back to my next smaller size belt, because I'm on the last notch on my current belt.  Glad I've kept a lot of my clothes over the years so that I can move back into smaller size stuff eventually!

    Which is why I'm ticked that I'm still waiting on parts and haven't ridden my StreetStrider since a week ago Sunday.  Sure, I won't be able to ride it in the Winter, but in the meantime, if I can keep knocking off the pounds, I'm going to keep doing it, thank you very much!