April 10, 2012

  • Long Easter Weekend

    Easter weekend ended up longer than planned.  Went to a cast party Saturday night at Mike and Helen's.  Brought Fazio with me (Helen said to bring him because he's meet their dog Misty before and they got along all right).  Another dog was there - Bear - who is a labra-doodle about twice the size of Fazio and although Bear is a nice dog, he is a big bull in the china shop kind of dog.  And Fazio was instantly afraid of him.  Bear then took advantage of it by trying to mount Fazio, which did NOT make me happy.  Had to separate Bear from the other two dogs and try to get Fazio to calm down.  By the time Fazio had calmed down, all the pizza was gone and I didn't get any.  Had a single Glenlivet - on an empty stomach.  Then started having a bunch of munchies - veggies and tortilla chips to calm down my stomach.  Had a second whiskey - Jameson.  Stayed and played two rounds of 31 with the remaining guys - there were five us and we each put in $5.  I won the first round (yay!), but was first one out in the second round.  Funny thing was, in the 2nd round, I was the only one without a strike and then suddenly lost three hands in a row.  Didn't get home until about 3:30 in the morning.  Woke up Sunday morning with one of the worst migraines I've had in years.  Usually my migraines start at that surgery point down at the right back base of the skull.  This migraine ran from the top of my scalp down the back of my head down both sides to my shoulder.  It was horrible.  Could barely move.  Fazio was trying to get me up and finally I managed to get up and barely move down the hall to take him outside.  He started to realize that I was not well after that and was very gentle (thank God). 

    However, that led to problems last night.  Because I was sick for the past two days, he was used to my letting him sleep so close to me on the bed and last night he was expecting that again.  Well, I had just put new sheets on the bed and I was not having that - and he was not happy.  Too bad.

    Anyway - back to Sunday morning.  Took one of my prescription meds, still mondo migraine.  Took a second one, lots of water, slept some more, still migraine.  Finally took two Aleve and it started to subside, but then nausea started to kick in.  And sleepiness.  I ended up being able to be on my feet for maybe 90 minutes at a time at the most and kept stumbling back to bed with the nausea, groaning out loud because it was so horrible, and Fazio was very good at knowing I was not well and was as sweet as could be.  When I would try to eat, I could only eat maybe half a dish of something and then I felt immediately full and went right back to sleep, so I wonder if it was part of a virus.

    But I do know it's REALLY put me off alcohol for a long time.  I just don't want to take that chance that alcohol is that big a trigger for my migraines. 

    It wasn't until about 10pm Easter night that I finally felt decent enough to get out to the 24 hour CVS and get some Saltines, ginger ale and nausea meds.  That helped me to finally get some sleep, but was still not feeling well yesterday morning.  Had to call in sick and got some more sleep and the nausea was finally gone around 6pm last night.

    Happy Easter indeed.

    "The Gin Game" is progressing and Steve and Linda are having a bit of a tough time of it.  You would think it should be an easy show since it's mostly two people playing Gin, but trying to remember specific things such as when to specifically draw, discard or pick up the other person's discard makes it a much more difficult show than that.  I don't envy them.

    This weekend is the final two performances of "The Drowsy Chaperone" - bittersweet because we have such a great cast, but we were so let down by the lack of orchestra.

    Oh well.

    And on to work.